Cellulose and Renewable Materials Division

A Division of the American Chemical Society

Current Division Officials

To review the job descriptions and responsibilities of the positions, click on the title of the position, or view the Officials' Responsibilities webpage.

Elected Officials

Chair: Stephen Eichhorn Term: Jan. 1, 2017 - Dec. 31, 2018
  College of Engineering, Mathematics & Physical Sciences
Harrison Building
Streatham Campus
University of Exeter
North Park Road
Exeter, UK
EX4 4QF
Phone: +44(0)1392 72 5515
s.j.eichhorn@exeter.ac.uk
 
 

Chair-Elect: Gordon Selling Term: Jan. 1, 2017 - Dec. 31, 2018
  USDA National Center for Agricultural Utilization Research
1815 N. University Street
Peoria, IL 61604
Phone: 309-681-6338
Gordon.Selling@ars.usda.gov
 
 

Immediate Past Chair: Sheila Murphy Term: Jan. 1, 2017 - Dec. 31, 2018
  1596 Lancaster Terrace, Apt 11A
Jacksonville, FL 32204-4109
Phone: 912-222-9871
murphysheilam@gmail.com
 
 

Secretary: Michael Santiago Cintrón Term: Jan. 1, 2015 - Dec. 31, 2018
  USDA, ARS, Southern Regional Research Center
Cotton Structure and Quality Research Unit (CSQ)
1100 Robert E. Lee Blvd.
New Orleans, LA 70124
Phone: 504-286-4273
michael.santiago@ars.usda.gov
 
 

Treasurer: World L-S Nieh Term: Jan. 1, 2016 - Dec. 31, 2017
  National Program Lead, Forest Products
U.S. Forest Service
1601 North Kent St., RPC-4
Arlington, VA 22209
Phone: 703-605-4197
wnieh@fs.fed.us
 
 

Councilor: Lucian Lucia Term: Jan. 1, 2015 - Dec. 31, 2017
  Department of Forest Biomaterials
North Carolina State University
3108 Biltmore Hall
Raleigh, NC 27695
Phone: 919-515-7707
lucian.lucia@ncsu.edu
 
 

Councilor: Scott Renneckar Term: Jan. 1, 2016 - Dec. 31, 2018
  Faculty of Forestry
University of British Columbia
Forest Sciences Centre 4034
2424 Main Mall
Vancouver, British Columbia V6T 1Z4
Canada
Phone: 604-827-0637
scott.renneckar@ubc.ca
 
 

Councilor: Kevin Edgar Term: Jan. 1, 2008 - Dec. 31, 2019
  Department of Sustainable Biomaterials
Virginia Tech
230 Cheatham Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone: 540-231-0674
kjedgar@vt.edu
 
 

Alternate Councilor: Tom Elder Term: Jan. 1, 2015 - Dec. 31, 2017
  USDA Forest Service Southern Research Station
521 Devall Drive
Auburn, AL 36849
Phone: 334-826-8700 ext. 48
telder@fs.fed.us
 
 

Alternate Councilor: Noureddine Abidi Term: Jan. 1, 2016 - Dec. 31, 2018
  Fiber and Biopolymer Research Institute
Department of Plant and Soil Science
Texas Tech University
1001 East Loop 289
Mail Stop 45019
Lubbock, Texas 79409-5019
Phone: 806-834-1221
n.abidi@ttu.edu
 
 

Alternate Councilor: Nicole Labbe Term: Jan. 1, 2017 - Dec. 31, 2019
  Center for Renewable Carbon
University of Tennessee
2506 Jacob Drive
Knoxville, TN 37996
Phone: 865-946-1126
nlabbe@utk.edu
 
 

Member at Large: Falk Liebner Term: Jan. 1, 2015 - Dec. 31, 2017
  Division of Chemistry and Renewable Resources
University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences
Konrad Lorenz-Straße 24
3430 Tulln an der Donau
Vienna, Austria
Phone: (+43) 1 / 47654-6452
falk.liebner@boku.ac.at
 
 

Member at Large: Maria Soledad Peresin Term: Jan. 1, 2016 - Dec. 31, 2018
  School of Forestry & Wildlife Sciences
Auburn University
Auburn, AL
Phone: 334-844-1007
soledad.peresin@auburn.edu
 
 

Member at Large: Maria Auad Term: Jan. 1, 2017 - Dec. 31, 2019
  Samuel Ginn College of Engineering
Auburn Universiy
320 Ross Hall
Auburn, AL
Phone: 334-844-5459
auad@auburn.edu
 
 

 

Nominated Officials

Program Chair: Maren Roman Term: Spring 2016 - Spring 2018
  Department of Sustainable Biomaterials
Virginia Tech
230 Cheatham Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone: 540-231-1421
maren.roman@vt.edu
 
 

Vice Program Chair: Wim Thielemans Term: Spring 2016 - Spring 2018
  Chemical Engineering
KU Leuven - Campus Kortrijk
Etienne Sabbelaan 53 box 7659
8500 Kortrijk
Belgium
Phone: +32 56 24 61 71
wim.thielemans@kuleuven.be
 
 

Awards Chair: Monica Ek Term: Jan. 1, 2016 - Dec. 31, 2017
  Division of Wood Chemistry and Pulp Technology
KTH Royal Institute of Technology
Stockholm, Sweden
Phone: +46 8 790 8104
monicaek@kth.se
 
 

Membership Chair: Johan Foster Term: Jan. 1, 2015 - Dec. 31, 2016
  Department of Materials Science and Engineering
Virginia Tech
203 Holden Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone: 540-231-8165
johanf@vt.edu
 
 

Events Chair: Nikki Robitaille Brown Term: Jan. 1, 2015 - Dec. 31, 2016
  Department of Agricultural and Biological Engineering
Pennsylvania State University
209 Agricultural Engineering Building
University Park, PA 16802
Phone: 814-865-9966
nrb10@psu.edu
 
 

Publicity Chair: Koon-Yang Lee Term: Jan. 1, 2017 - Dec. 31, 2018
  Department of Aeronautics
Imperial College London
South Kensington Campus
London, UK
SW7 2AZ
Phone: +44 (0)20 7594 5150
koonyang.lee@imperial.ac.uk
 
 

Technical Program Administrator

Peney Patton

210 Cypress Ct.
Woodway, TX 76712
Phone: 806-781-1513
acs_cell@hotmail.com

Last revised: March 3, 2017

The CELL Division is on Facebook!

Visit our Facebook page by clicking the icon below.


Contact Us

Members and visitors can contact the CELL Web master (cellwebmaster@hotmail.com) with any questions or suggestions related to the Web site. Contact information for current Division Officers can be found here.

Upcoming Events

Sunday Jul 2 - Thursday Jul 6
Sunday Aug 20 - Thursday Aug 24
Sunday Aug 20 - Thursday Aug 24
Wednesday Oct 18 - Friday Oct 20

Who Can Sign In?

ACS members who belong to this division may sign into this site using their ACS ID. If you are an ACS member, but don't have an ACS ID, you may go to www.acs.org to create it. You may also go to login help if you have questions about your ACS ID.

Not an ACS member? Join ACS today.

Not a division member? Join the division today.

To review the member benefits, follow this link.

Diversity

The ACS CELL Division aspires to be a diverse and inclusive community of highly skilled chemical professionals. Click here to find out more.